Skip to Main Content

COLONELS LIBRARY LHS

A Virtual Collection of Resources

DATABASES & RESOURCES FOR SCIENCE

GALE Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
GALE Science This link opens in a new window
GALE EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Reference ebooks ALL SUBJECTS!!
SIRS This link opens in a new window

Earth's Weather, Water and Atmosphere by Margaret Boorstein (Editor); Richard Renneboog (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 550 Ear
ISBN: 9781587659850
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Password for access is one you know...
Help? Library@Ledyard.net
Earth Materials and Resources by Steven I. Dutch; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 550 Ear
ISBN: 9781587659812
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Password for Access is one you know.
HELP? Email: Library@Ledyard.net
Earth's Surface and History by David K. Elliott; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 550 Ear
ISBN: 9781587659775
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Password for Access you know it.
HELP? Email: Library@Ledyard.net

World Wide Science Gateway
Operated by US Department of Energy - includes conference papers & articles

Biology

Bio Med Central
For 15 years, we have been making scientific research freely accessible and discoverable through partnerships, innovation and collaboration with the scientific community. Dedicated to open research, we now publish over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health.

UCONN Marine Science Resources

American Fisheries Society : Welcome to the AFS Information Site
NOAA Fisheries

Long Island Sound Resouce Center literature collection: Housed in Avery Point Library
Long Island Sound Study - EPA
Mystic Aquarium
Mystic Seaport: The Museum of America and the Sea
Project Oceanology-at Avery Point

Reference

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Thesaurus
Marine Science online encyclopedia from Oceana
Global Change Master Directory List of Earth Science Acronyms, Glossaries and Gazetteers
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
National Sea Grant Library
Data Sources
NOAA National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
USDOC/NOAA/NESDIS/National Geophysical Data Center

Avery Point (UConn) Marine Sciences
Canadian Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans
Global Directory of Marine (and Freshwater) Professionals (GLODIR): From the IOC (Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission)
Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission
Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory

Univ. of Stonybrook (SUNY)-Marine Science Research Center
Wind and Sea - from NOAAy
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI)

Algae - Phycology

Center for Algal Microscopy and Image Digitization: "The archive consists mostly of light images of cleaned diatoms.."
A Guide to Algae
Marine Botany Glossary
Seaweed homepage: From national University of Ireland, Galway
World Wide Websites Pertaining to Algae: A nice collection of sites.

Aquaculture Communications Group
Bridgeport (Conn.) Aquaculture School
Delaware Aquaculture Resource Center Home Page

Corals glossary
Cyanosite
Glossary of Marine Biology
Ichthyology Department at the California Academy of Sciences
Marine Biology Web Page: Resources for Marine Biology students, links to summer programs, bibliographies under "reference lists", links to marine institutes, Glossary of Marine Biology, and more.
The Society of Marine Mammology
World-Wide Web Virtual Library Whale-Watching Web

Hydrothermal Vent Chemistry
Ocean Chemistry Division: Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory (AOML)
Toxic chemicals in coastal environments