LibGuides: *🟡 COLONELS WORLD HISTORY MODERN*: WORLD WAR I

MORE HISTORY DATABASES & EBOOKS

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Username: lhslibrary

GVRL HISTORY EBOOKS
Username: ledyard

ResearchITCT.org This link opens in a new window
Links to databases, news, magazines, journals
Use your 14 digit barcode public library card for full access from home

PODCASTS

St. Petersburg: Revolution: The Romanovs ruled Russia for centuries until World War One brought revolution and an abrupt end to their imperial reign. Allan Little explores the legacy of revolution and the hidden impact of WW1 on Russian policy today.

"St. Petersburg: Revolution." BBC World Service, 19 October 2014, https://www.missedinhistory.com/podcasts/raphael-lemkin-and-the-genocide-convention.htm.

SITES FOR WHEN YOU NEED MORE

First World War - general summary overview Web Site

The Great War and the Shaping of the 20th Century - Collection of images and text with archival video clips, photographs, and maps.

National World War I Museum & Memorial

World War I Posters - Posters afforded governments a high-impact way of communicating with the public.

LOC Image WWI

Draft Registration Card

World War I Document Archives

VIDEOS

Legacies of the Great War
Create your own account with LHS subscription. Use ledyard as the user name and you know the password. Then create your own playlist.

BOOKS & EBOOKS IN THE LHS LIBRARY

Cavendish Digital E Books This link opens in a new window
Financial Literacy - World War I - World War II
Username: ledyard

Archie's War by Belle Yang; Marcia Williams (Illustrator)
Call Number: GR Wil
ISBN: 9780763635329
Publication Date: 2007-11-13
Kipling's Choice by Geert Spillebeen; Terese Edelstein (Translator)
Call Number: F Spi
ISBN: 9780618431243
Publication Date: 2005-05-30
Based on fact, recounts events up to & including WWI service of Rudyard Kipling's son.
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld; Keith Thompson (Illustrator)
Call Number: F Wes PB
ISBN: 9781416971740
Publication Date: 2010-08-10
Machine dependent Germans battle the British, breeders of powerful animal hybrids. A re-imagined version of WWI.
The War to End All Wars by Russell Freedman
Call Number: 940.3 Fre
ISBN: 9780547026862
Publication Date: 2010-08-02
Riveting, accessible language thorough research to recreate sights and sounds of war.
Watch for title in Catalyst collection in summer 2014
Unraveling Freedom by Ann Bausum; Ted Rall (Foreword by)
Call Number: 940.3 Bau
ISBN: 9781426307027
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Explores the dichotomy of the US fighting overseas in the name of democracy while restricting personal freedoms on its own shores.

🟡 COLONELS WORLD HISTORY MODERN: WORLD WAR I

ABC CLIO HISTORY DATABASE

MORE HISTORY DATABASES & EBOOKS

PODCASTS

SITES FOR WHEN YOU NEED MORE

VIDEOS

BOOKS & EBOOKS IN THE LHS LIBRARY

SEARCH LHS LIBRARY BOOKS & EBOOKS