3D Toad - Innovative site with interactive 360 degree rotatable images.
Animal Photos - Thousands of free to use animals photos divided up in easy to browse categories.
Behold - Students can use this search engine with adult supervision to find images on flickr.
Compfight - A search engine for flickr photos that have been marked as usable with a creative commons license.
Find Icons - An icon search engine that helps you find free icons in the world’s largest searchable free icons database.
Flickr Images Creative Commons Search - Many flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
FreeFoto - Thousands of free photos for use by students.
FreePhotoBank - Free stock photos.
Google Images - Families and students will want to ensure that the safe search filter is turned on.
Google Safe Images
The Library of Congress flickr project
Microsoft - 1000s of illustrations, photos, animations, sounds and more.
MorgueFile - High-resolution stock photography images "for creatives by creatives."
Pics4Learning - One of the most popular image sites for finding images for education.
Picsearch - Image search; student use with adult supervision is recommended.
Pixabay - High quality public domain images. Some images require payment.
School Clip Art - One of the best sources of free clip art for students and teachers.
U.S. Government Photos and Graphics - Links to U.S. government sites where images can be found and used without permission or fee.
Veezzle - Free stock photo search engine and community.
Wikimedia Commons - A media file repository that makes public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) available to everyone, in their own language.
The sites below offer excellent images for research in art and art history and are especially good for illustrating a research paper or creating a class presentation. See the Web Resources tab for many other resources.
Thank you to Lane Community College for this list:
African & Asian Visual Artists Archive -- A comprehensive archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period. The archive houses over 6,000 slides of artworks and exhibitions, as well as publications and videos about and by artists. There are over 200 individual artist folders, as well as curators, art historians, cultural critics and arts organization files.
American Memory Project -- Created by the Library of Congress, American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
Art Images for College Teaching -- AICT is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The collection focuses on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture.
Bridgeman Art Library -- Excellent image database containing images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, Bridgeman provides a central source of fine art and historical images for users. Based in London but focus is international in scope.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) -- A well-designed site with focus on fashion, craft, 2D design, and contemporary artists working in the UK and internationally. Repository for many specail collections in the UK.
Web Gallery of Art -- WGA is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries. Content focuses on the Renaissance period, the Medieval roots of the period and its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism were also included.
Cybermuse -- National Gallery of Canada's hosts its permanent collection of Canada's visual arts heritage. This virtual museum contains over 20,000 images of works of the Gallery's permanent collection as well as video and audio recordings of Canadian artists.
Finding Art Images: http://ipl.org/div/pf/entry/48440